Sri Lanka Cricket have surprisingly named Lasith Malinga as the new limited-overs captain and Niroshan Dickwella as his deputy for the upcoming ODIs and one-off T20I against New Zealand.

After England whitewashed Sri Lanka at home in the Tests and ODIs, the board have overhauled the limited-overs side, especially with the ODI team.

The board have also reinstated Angelo Mathews into the side despite his fallout with board after he claimed that he was made the scapegoat after from the Asia Cup knock out in September.

Sri Lanka have dropped Upul Tharanga after his poor performance in the ODIs against England. He only played the first two matches. The South Asian nation will also be without their spin specialist Akila Dananjaya, who is under suspension after being called for illegal bowling action.

Kusal Perera has recovered from his quad strain which he sustained in the second ODI against England. Kusal Mendis, who was brought as Perera’s replacement, claimed his spot.

Test skipper Dinesh Chandimal has also been included in the limited-overs squad.

Sri Lanka ODI and T20I Squad: Lasith Malinga (captain), Niroshan Dickwella, Angelo Mathews, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Asela Gunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Thisara Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Lakshan Sandakan, Seekkuge Prasanna, Dushmantha Chameera, Kasun Rajitha, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara