Maroons SA won the inaugural battle of the Blues vs Maroons SA Shield at the Hectorville Sports and Community Club grounds yesterday.

Maroons SA won the toss and elected to bat first on a perfect batting wicket scored 243 for 4 in 40 overs. Maroons lost 3 early wickets for 36 runs but Praveen and Lahiru put up a steady 162 runs partnership for the 4th wicket. Praveen De Silva top scored for Maroons with a splendid 101 not out which he scored off just 119 bowls including 7 fours and 1 six and Lahiru Wickramasinghe run out for 68. Manoj Sathasivam took 2 wickets for 49 runs and Uditha Rajasekara took 1 for 39.

Blues in reply made 213 all out just under 37 overs, thanks to the well composed 58 of Rohan Joshna, Uditha Rajasekara 48 and Shanil Samarasinghe 46. Irusha Jayawardena dominated the Maroons bowling attack by taking 4 wickets for 24 runs and Sampath Wijesinghe took 2 crucial wickets.