About 20 State Ministers to be sworn in by Prez on Wednesday


President Gotabaya Rajapaksa will swear in about 20 State Ministers on Wednesday to discharge the work of the new interim government, informed sources said.

Initially, the swearing-in ceremony was scheduled for today. However, it has now been postponed until Wednesday.

The State Ministers rank below the Cabinet Ministers but above the Deputy Ministers. The President can assign subjects to the state ministers by gazetting institutions under them. However, they are not authorised to submit Cabinet memoranda. Also, the President can appoint secretaries to the state ministries.

According to informed sources, among those listed to be appointed as State Ministers are Mahindananda Aluthgamage, Rohitha Abeygunawardena, Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena, Keheliya Rambukwella and Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena.

Meanwhile, the gazette notification announcing the subjects of the new Cabinet of Ministers will be issued today. Also, the President will appoint secretaries to the ministries today.

Source dailymirror.lk


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here